Oy vey…

Lily told me what she found out about Avak’s past… or lack thereof. Honestly, what was Ben thinking, making a character like that? A soldier program is questionable enough for what we do, but the psychologist in me wants to whack that boy over the head, because people aren’t born with a desire to fight! That only comes from past experiences – usually painful ones, at that. Avak was spared that bit of thoughtlessness, thank god, but I’m still left in a bit of a predicament.

He’s a sweet kid though, don’t get me wrong. Avak is, I mean. He’s always trying to help me out in the med ward, offering to fetch this and carry that. After Lily brought him back from her shopping trip, he even started asking questions about what I do, which gives me hope that we’ll make a human being out of him yet. And he still gets exposure to other people when he hangs out with me, which is why I haven’t kicked him out yet – there are worse places he could be hiding, after all. Nonetheless, I do like him, and I think he’ll make an excellent addition to the team… I just wish it had been under better circumstances.

Now there’s just the little matter of what to do. I could tell Ben my opinion of his little “project”, though that wouldn’t really solve anything – Avak’s already here, and at the moment he’s not really capable of being anywhere else. The change in Ben’s behavior also worries me – Avak isn’t the only one he’s been neglectful of.

I want to say something. Dear god, I want to speak my mind. But Ben would just get defensive and Avak would just run and hide. Nothing would get done and I’d have made a good friend mad at me. But there must be some way I can catch their attention without making it worse…

Hmm…

  1. Rhiannon-Society Chef
    October 4, 2010 at 5:02 am

    I’ve noticed he’s been forgetting about Lily as well. Poor girl’s been coming into the kitchen wanting a lot of chocolate ice cream lately. And mashed potatoes.
    And I haven’t had the chance to meet Avak yet. Mayhap you could bring him down and I could make him something, Val? I swear not to scare him! Oooh, corner Ben, Lily and Avak in one room together….*winces* Wait, bad idea.
    Bring Avak to my kitchen anyway.

    • k/c
      October 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      What say we hold a little welcoming party for Avak? Make the Library feel more of a home to him?

      – Karissa

  2. gdouglas56
    October 5, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Ask Ben to have a talk with Ingrid. He should know the trauma of war (Looks like he havn’t learned from past experiences)

    -Author

  3. dancingphoenix
    October 5, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Find time to talk to them separately Val-chan. Maybe ask Jess to talk to Ben too – he seems to be spending most of his time with her working on the band right now. And she’s pretty good at knocking some sense into people.

    I’m happy for Ben and Jess to form a band, but I do wish it didn’t mean Shirley and Leonard being in close proximity so often. It usually means Dave ending up in the hospital wing…

  4. dr0tom
    October 6, 2010 at 4:49 am

    Would it be possible for Ben to write Avak a past now? He did seem sure that he could give him the ability to play bass.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

